The school curriculum

At Maryland we teach from the 2014 National Curriculum produced by the Department for Education and assess (until 2016) against the level descriptors set out in the preceding National Curriculum.

Our literacy teaching is based on two schemes, Read Write Inc. which is mainly taught in the infant years (we are a model school for RWI and were the first school in our borough to introduce the scheme in 2004), followed by Success for All (SFA) taught mainly in the junior years.

We set a whole school theme each term and weave the theme through much of our teaching. Every child from Year 1 to Year 6 is expected to do an independent homework research project based on the term’s theme, as we know this develops skills vital to becoming successful students. Every child has at least 3 educational visits out of school each year and usually at least one visiting creative workshop experience linked to our theme. One visit to a place of worship each year is made, which contributes significantly to developing tolerance and understanding of the diverse religions and cultures that make up our society.

Some of the term themes we have had over the last few years are: Heritage, The Olympics, The elements, Great British artists, Famous people, Living things, Inventions and machines, Toys and games.

Curriculum overview for parents

Autumn Term 2017

Nursery | Reception | Year 1 | Year 2 | Year 3 | Year 4 | Year 5 | Year 6

Summer Term 2017

Nursery |  Reception | Year 1 | Year 2 | Year 3 | Year 4 | Year 5 | Year 6 

Spring Term 2016

Click here and scroll down to find each year group.


The 2014 national curriculum for primary schools is very demanding. The NON-NEGOTIABLES are the subject statements we share with our children at school, so that they understand the knowledge and skills they MUST have by the end of the academic year.

Please click on the link to view documents.