Calendar

 

Term Dates 2016 / 2017

Governing bodies are responsible for setting the school term and holiday dates for each school. This calendar provides a framework for governing bodies to set their dates. Individual school dates will vary, so please check the school website for the dates at specific schools.

SCHOOL TERMS

PUPIL HOLIDAYS

Autumn
Monday 5th September 2016 to
Friday 21 October 2016

 Monday 5th –children’s first day 

Eid-Ul-Adha
1 day between 11 & 14 September 2016 No school closure

          INSET (1 & 2) Thur 1st & Friday 2nd September 2016
(School closed to pupils )

  Half Term
Monday 24 October 2016  to
Friday 28 October 2016

Autumn
Monday 31 October  2016 to
Tuesday 20 December 2016
– children’s last day

Diwali
Sunday 30 October 16
No school closure

Guru Nanak’s Birthday
Monday 14 November 2016
No school closure

Christmas Break
Wednesday 21 December 2016  to
Wednesday 4th January 2017

Christmas Day and New Year’s
Day fall within the
Christmas Break

Spring
Thursday 5th January 2017 to
Friday 10 February 2017

Half Term
INSET (3) Wednesday 4th January

Monday 13 February 2017 to
Friday 17 February 2017

Spring
Monday 20 February 2017 to
Friday 31 March 2017

Spring Break
Monday 3 April 2017 to
Monday 17 April 2017 (Easter Monday)

The  Easter religious festival falls within the spring break

Summer
Tuesday 18 April 2017 to
Thursday 25th May 2017

Half Term
INSET (4) Friday 26 May

Friday 26 May 2017 to
Friday 2 June 2017 
May Day
Monday 1  May 2017

Summer
Monday 5 June 2017  to
Thursday 20 July 2017
– children’s last day

 Eid-Ul-Fitr
1 day between 26 & 28 June 2017
No closure

Summer Break
INSET (5) Friday 21 July

Friday 21 July 2017 to
to be advised

In-service training days (INSET):

The above pattern gives 195 days. It includes 5 days which should be allocated for INSET days (staff training days – school not open for children) on dates chosen by each school from within the above range of dates.