Calendar

 

Term Dates 2017 / 2018

Governing bodies are responsible for setting the school term and holiday dates for each school. This calendar provides a framework for governing bodies to set their dates. Individual school dates will vary, so please check the school website for the dates at specific schools.

SCHOOL TERMS

PUPIL HOLIDAYS

Autumn
Tuesday 5th September 2017 to
Friday 20 October 2017

 Tuesday 5th –children’s first day 

Eid-Ul-Adha
1st September 2017
No school closure

INSET (1&2) Friday 1st & Monday 4th September 2017
(School closed to pupils)

  Half Term
Monday 23 October 2017  to
Friday 27 October 2017

Autumn
Monday 30 October  2017 to
Tuesday 19 December 2017 
– children’s last day

Diwali
Thursday 19th October 2017
No school closure

Guru Nanak’s Birthday
Saturday 4th November 2017
No school closure

INSET (3) Wednesday 20th December

Christmas Break
Thursday 21st December 2017  to
Tuesday 2nd January 2018

Christmas Day and New Year’s
Day fall within the
Christmas Break

Spring
Thursday 3rd January 2018 to
Friday 9th February 2018

Half Term
Monday 12th February 2018 to
Friday 16th February 2018

Spring
Monday 19 February 2018 to
Thursday 29 March 2018

Spring Break
Friday 30th March 2018 to
Friday 13th April 2018

The  Easter religious festival falls within the spring break

Summer
Monday 16th April 2018 to
Thursday 24th May 2018

INSET (4) Friday 25th May 2018
(School closed to pupils)

Half Term
Monday 28th May 2018 to
Friday 1st June 2018

 
May Day
Monday 7th May 2018

Summer
Monday 4th June 2018 to
Thursday 19th July 2018
– children’s last day

 Eid-Ul-Fitr
1 day between 14th & 16th June 2018
No closure

INSET (5) Friday 20th July
(School closed to pupils)

Summer Break
Monday 23rd July 2018 to
to be advised

In-service training days (INSET):

The above pattern gives 195 days. It includes 5 days which should be allocated for INSET days (staff training days – school not open for children) on dates chosen by each school from within the above range of dates.